Installing the colossal statues in front of the museum

Exhibition

Saved from the depths off Egypt’s Mediterranean coast: the spectacular exhibition shows almost 300 statues and cult objects, sarcophagi and sacred images from sixteen centuries. They come from two legendary towns, Thonis-Heracleion and Canopus, which sank below the sea and were lost in the 8th century AD. Old questions are answered, new stories are recounted.

MORE >

Excavations

Ancient texts help specialists locate sunken towns, as does the latest technical equipment. A nuclear magnetic resonance  magnetometer makes it possible to detect objects underwater—even if they are covered by sand.

MORE >

Team

Numerous experts must contribute their knowledge before an object can be discovered, recovered, allocated, described and exhibited in the museum. This list ranges from an underwater archaeologist and historic coin researcher through to a museologist.

MORE >

Underwater exploration

L’Exposition

Exhumés des profondeurs de la côte méditerranéenne d’Egypte : l’exposition spectaculaire présente 300 statues et objets cultuels, sarcophages et représentations de divinités issus de 16 siècles d’histoire. Ces objets proviennent des deux villes légendaires de Thônis-Héracléion et Canope englouties dans la mer au 8e siècle ap. J.C. Ils apportent une réponse à des questions anciennes et racontent des histoires nouvelles.

Pour en savoir plus >

Fouilles

Tout comme les instruments à la pointe de la technologie, l‘étude des textes anciens apporte, elle aussi, une aide précieuse à la localisation des villes et trésors engloutis. Le magnétomètre à résonance magnétique nucléaire permet de détecter les objets sous l’eau, même s’ils sont couverts de sable.

Pour en savoir plus >

L’Équipe

Avant de pouvoir être exposé dans un musée, la découverte, l’exhumation, le classement et la description d’un objet nécessite l’intervention de toute une pléiade d’experts parmi lesquels des archéologues sous-marins, des numismates et des muséologues.

Pour en savoir plus >

Expédition
sous-marines